#reverb10 Day 3: Moments

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards; reverb10.com)

There are many moments in which I felt alive, moments that I have recorded elsewhere, in various states.

  • While commuting to work, observing the fall colors
  • Pondering the nature of a transcendent God
  • After practicing Yoga, dedicating it to compassion towards my husband, kissing him on the lips
  • At the Henry Ford/DSO Celebration of America outdoor concert, listening and watching the crowd
  • The morning I took the pregnancy test that confirmed this pregnancy
  • The ultrasound that showed me my well-formed baby, whom I feel in love with

I think what’s more important here is to reflect upon what I’ve learned about the moments that I’ve felt alive: I have been fully in the moment. I have been mindful. I have opened up my senses not to shutting out the world and all of it’s sensations instead of blocking them out to protect myself from them.

Like at the Concert/Fireworks show, we were having a picnic dinner, and I had brought my knitting to do while we waited for the show to start. I realized, after a bit, that I was using my knitting to focus, and thus to ignore the rest of the proceedings. After I made the conscious decision to look up, watch people, walk around and explore? Then, then I felt alive.

I am so glad I learned to be in the present, to be mindful, to experience the moments that end my list. To write them down, to keep them for future generations, or maybe just for my transient memory, so that I don’t have to grasp at the moment that just passed.

One thought on “#reverb10 Day 3: Moments

Leave a Reply

